Food for Thought ?!?

Today, a past pupil from my school, Johnny Ward (One Step 4 Ward), came into speak to us about his life, past and present.  He give us a very motivational speech about not conforming to what our other friends do and not going along with decisions your friends make which will make such an impact on your future life!

This is so unbelievably true !  When I was choosing my GCSE’s I picked one subject in particular (geography) simply because all of my friends were doing geography.  I HATED geography (and still do) and so I didn’t try in my GCSE (I’m not saying don’t try in GCSE’s, please try your best) and that is because I only choose the subject as other friends was doing it.  This was a terrible mistake !  I wasted around 5-6 classes per week which could have been used more productively instead of wasting time in a class that I didn’t want to be in.

This got me thinking, outside of school do we do the same ?  I’m really asking about peer-pressure, we may be giving in to it but we really shouldn’t.  The famous author, Mark Twain was quoted saying “whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect.”  Chances are, you aren’t the only one giving into peer pressure and following the crowd.  If the majority does it, it is probably a little “shadowy” and something to consider doing before you go in without thinking about it.

Before you go and do something because others are doing it, stop, think, re-think and then decide, is it worth possibly affecting the rest of my life just because my friends are doing it and just because they are doing it is it necessarily right ?

Leave a Reply

